AAPS: 56 Ann Arbor Public Schools Students Named National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists

The Ann Arbor Public Schools congratulates 56 students who have recently been named Semi-Finalists in the 2022 National Merit Scholarship Program.

Ann Arbor Public Schools Superintendent Dr. Jeanice Kerr Swift reports, ”We are extremely proud of our students who have achieved National Merit Semi-Finalist status. We recognize the effort it takes to master the range of subject areas tested, and we applaud these Semi-Finalists for their excellent achievement. We also want to recognize and thank our AAPS teachers at all grade levels, who are instrumental in preparing our students for this competition, as well as our parents for their support of their young people throughout their education.  We are fortunate to live in a community that values and celebrates academic achievement. Congratulations to all our scholars for this remarkable achievement.”

This year, the Ann Arbor Public Schools accounts for over 10% of the nearly 550 students in Michigan selected for this honor. Over recent years, the Ann Arbor Public Schools has consistently been among the top districts for having the most students recognized as National Merit Semi-Finalists among Michigan districts.

•63 for the 2021 Competition

•47 for the 2020 Competition

•78 for the 2019 Competition

•56 for the 2018 Competition

•50 for the 2017 Competition

High school students entered the 67th annual National Merit Scholarship Program by taking the 2020 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test. Approximately 16,000 students were named Semi-Finalists and will have the opportunity to continue in the competition.

To become a Finalist, the Semi-Finalist and his or her high school must submit a detailed scholarship application. They provide information about the academic record of the Semi-Finalist, participation in school and community activities, demonstrated leadership abilities, employment, and honors and awards received. A Semi-Finalist must have an outstanding academic record throughout high school, be endorsed and recommended by a high school official, write an essay, and earn SAT scores that confirm the student’s earlier performance on the qualifying test.

National Merit Scholarship winners of 2022 will be announced in four nationwide news releases beginning in April and concluding in July.

The 2022 Semi-Finalists from the Ann Arbor Public Schools are:

From Community High School: Avani S. Hoeffner-Shah, Eliot F. Klus, Carrie Sonen, and Maggie C. Wolf

From Huron High School: Justina Bitzer, Scott J. Brinley, Aidan S. Edwards, Kathryn M. Hemmila, Eric Heng, Arya G. Kamat, Min-Seok Kim, Maya C. Liu, Felicia L. Sang, Sofiia Shapovalova, Jennifer E. Shim, Jessica L. Tai, Jessica P. Tang, Aarnav K. Unadkat, Alexandra B. VanLaven, Amy H. Xiu, Luojia Amanda Xu, Lana Yang-Maccini, Andrew Z. Ye, Amber Yu, Bryce P. Yung

From Pioneer High School: Maryam Alavi, Haesue Baik, Katherine E. Bajcz, Jonah Botkin, Schuyler L. Byrn, Shankrith N. Chandru, Charles L. Hertz, Clare Y. Hong, Ari B. Jacob, Arvid Jonsson, Tushaar R. Kapoor, Devin G. McDaniel, Mackenzie A. Pillote, Duncan Powell, Matthew A. Ruud, Juno E. Ryan, Will Sanok Dufallo, Jadon Z. Sterken, Karinne Tennenbaum, James F. Wallace, Jerry J. Wang, Rebecca Wang, and Shuyi Xu

From Skyline High School: Noah P. Berman, Peter Cohn, Nicole A. Dimarco, Thor W. Helgeson, Aadith Kumar, Ronan M. Pasquarella, Isha Saini, and Julian A. Skifstad