Boys Cross Country: Pioneer runs first at SEC Jamboree (see WLAA photo gallery – 125 photos)

Three strong teams raced to the finish line on Tuesday at the SEC boys’ cross country Jamboree at Hudson Mills Metropark in Dexter. When the dust had settled and the scores added up, Pioneer crossed the finish line in first place with 70 points.

Pioneer also took first place on the girls’ side to complete the sweep.

Pinckney ran second with 81 points followed by Adrian in third with 87 points.
Chelsea was fourth (111), Dexter fifth (134), Skyline sixth (138), Saline seventh (153) and Huron eighth (219) in the 13-team race.

The race was delayed after some heavy rains and hail raced through the area. The course was a little wet but the runners kept everything in stride and there were some strong performances.


Pinckney’s Caleb Jarema finished first in 15:41.5 and Chelsea’s Connell Alford was second in 15:59.8.

Pioneer landed three runners in the top 15 and five in the top 25 to land the victory.
Owen Johnson seems on pace for big things. The senior was third overall with a time of 16:01.5.

Senior Matt Ruud was ninth (16:38.7), junior Roman Cortina ran 15th (16:56.0), sophomore Eric Overdier was 21st (17:11.0), sopohomore Vincent Peterson Sand was 22nd (17:11.6) and sophomore Aaron Sterken was 24th (17:16.8).

Dexter ran a solid race on their home course. The Dreadnaughts were led by sophomore Brandon Anderson (16th, 16:57.8) and senior Adam Hauser (17th, 17:04.1). Senior Josh Lamb was 26th (17:21.3), sophomore Owen Ackerman was 30th (17:29.0), junior Alex Hoffman was 46th (17:54.1), senior Griffin Bentley was 55th (18:17.8), senior Zachary Sawin was 60th (18:28.7), freshman Scott Smith was 66th (18:40.6), senior Andy Jordan was 79th (19:06.2) and freshman Caleb Snyder was 91st (19:41.9).


The Eagles placed three runners in the top 20 led by junior Nicolas Fry who ran seventh with a time of 16:32.5. Senior Sanjay Rao was 14th in 16:53.8 and sophomore Luke Suliman ran 20th in 17:09.6.

Sophomore Wyatt McNamara was 49th (18:08.8), junior Christopher Van Lent was 52nd (18:11.8), junior Eric VonBargen was 72nd (18:50), junior Soren Nielsen was 92nd (19:42), sophomore Mason Jett was 94th (19:51), junior Aidan Hale was 109th (20:35.2) and senior Adi Balaji was 116th (20:54.1).

Seniors led the way for Huron – Eli Wiegman was 29th (17:25.9), Matthew Dowling was 37th (17:43.1) and Lev Nakamura was 43rd (17:50.3). Junior Adam Bigelow was 53rd (18:13.1), freshman Walker Brose was 63rd (18:34.5), sophomore Lucas Weintraub was 73rd (18:50.2), sophomore Henry Beard was 84th (19:15.7), junior Nicolas Jiang was 89th (19:30.1), junior Aidan Behmer was 95th (19:51.7) and senior Taiga Yoshida was 104th (20:21.9).