Boys Cross Country: Pioneer wins SEC Red race; Skyline’s Kessler first overall

The Pioneer boys’ cross country team took four of the top eight spots and ran away with the SEC Red Division Championship on Saturday at Indian Creek Park. The Pioneers finished with 34 points, a good half mile ahead of Saline (63), Skyline (70), Huron (77), Monroe (134) and Bedford (135).

Skyline senior Hobbs Kessler ran first overall with a time of 15:30.0

Two juniors finished atop the Pioneer lineup – Owen Johnson was second (15:50.2) and Henry MonteSano was third (16:11.2). Senior Max Klarman was seventh (16:25.8) and junior Fred Wallace ran eighth (16:28.3). Senior Ben Jakabcsin was 14th (16:50.3), junior Matt Rudd was 24th (17:19.5) and sophomore Roman Cortina was 37th (17:59.3).

The Eagles had four runners in the top 17. After Kessler’s win, junior Sanjay Rao was 11th (16:42.0), senior Ian Steele was 16th (16:51.6) and sophomore Nicolas Fry was 17th (16:54.5). Freshman Luke Suliman was 25th (17:21.4), junior Alex Ball was 31st (17:35.8) and senior Alex lekel-Johnson was 36th (17:57.7).

The River Rats had three senior atop their lineup card. Michael Hill-Carruthers was 9th (16:29.3), Peter Stenger was 10th (16:36.2) and Donovan Smith was 13th (16:48.6). Sophomore Adam Bigelow ran 19th (17:05.9), freshman Lucas Weintraub was 26th (17:26.5), senior Evan Ridenour was 27th (17:27.0) and senior Calvin Shaw was 29th (17:30.4).

Girls Cross Country: Pioneers run close second at SEC league meet