Community High School Named 2019 National Blue Ribbon School

Ann Arbor Public Schools Community High School has been designated as a 2019 National Blue Ribbon School.  U.S. Secretary of Education, Betsy DeVos announced Community High School has been awarded this distinguished honor based on their academic excellence.

In receiving this distinguished national honor, Community High School joins other Ann Arbor Public Schools that have been honored during recent years: Allen Elementary received the Blue Ribbon designation in 2017, Angell Elementary and Wines Elementary Schools in 2015 and King Elementary School was named a National Blue Ribbon School in 2014.

“It is truly a great day in the Ann Arbor Public Schools as we celebrate this distinguished honor for Community High School as a 2019 National Blue Ribbon School,” said AA Superintendent Jeanice Swift. “It is rare for this esteemed honor to be given to a high school program, with a very small percentage of high schools awarded in the U.S.  We are very fortunate that the exemplary work at Community, under the leadership of Dean Marci Tuzinsky and the exceptional performance of our Community High School teachers, staff and students, has been recognized with this prestigious national distinction. This high honor confirms the exceptional work of our teachers and staff every day to ensure quality educational experiences, achievement outcomes and success for each and every student. Congratulations to the Community High School staff, students, parents and community.”

U.S. Secretary of Education Betsy DeVos recognized 362 schools as National Blue Ribbon Schools for 2019 based on their overall academic excellence or their progress in closing achievement gaps among student subgroups. These schools demonstrate that all students can achieve to high levels.

“National Blue Ribbon Schools are active demonstrations of preparing every child for a bright future,” said U.S. Secretary of Education Betsy DeVos in a video message to the honorees. “You are visionaries, innovators and leaders. You have much to teach us: some of you personalize student learning, others engage parents and communities in the work

and life of your local schools and still others develop strong and forward-thinking leaders from among your teaching staff.”

Now in its 37th year, the National Blue Ribbon Schools Program has bestowed recognition on more than 9,000 of America’s schools. On November 14 and 15, the Secretary and the Department of Education will celebrate with 312 public and 50non-public school honorees at an awards ceremony in Washington, D.C.

The National Blue Ribbon Schools Program honors public and private elementary, middle, and high schools where students either achieve very high learning standards or are making notable improvements in closing the achievement gap. The award affirms the hard work of students, educators, families and communities in creating safe and welcoming schools where students master challenging content. The award flag gracing a school’s building is a widely recognized symbol of exemplary teaching and learning. 

All schools are recognized in one of two performance categories, based on all student scores, subgroup student scores and graduation rates:

  • Exemplary High Performing Schools are among their state’s highest performing schools as measured by state assessments or nationally normed tests. Student subgroup performance and high school graduation rates are also at the highest levels.
  • Exemplary Achievement Gap Closing Schools are among their state’s highest performing schools in closing achievement gaps between a school’s subgroups and all students over the past five years. Student subgroup performance and high school graduation rates for each subgroup are at high levels.

Up to 420 schools may be nominated each year. The Department invites National Blue Ribbon School nominations from the top education official in all states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, the Virgin Islands, the Department of Defense Education Activity and the Bureau of Indian Education. Private schools are nominated by The Council for American Private Education (CAPE).