Girls Basketball: Dexter dominates All-League awards; Pioneer’s DeWolf named to First Team

There wasn’t a red carpet, but there was a red hardwood floor and that’s where the Dexter girls’ basketball team earned plenty of postseason awards in the SEC “Red” Division.

Playing their first year in the Red, the Dreadnaughts finished first with a perfect 14-0 record. Saline took second with a 10-4 record while Pioneer and Bedford tied for third at 9-5.

Dexter Coach Lauren Thompson was named SEC Red Coach of the Year.

The Dreadnaughts landed three players on the All SEC RED First Team – and all were members of Dexter’s talented senior class.

Forward Sydney Pnacek averaged 14.7 points and 6.8 rebounds for the Dreadnaughts and was named to the First Team. A four-year varsity player, Pnacek scored 908 points in her career and scored 20 or more points a program-record seven times. Pnacek will play next year at Hillsdale College.

Senior guard Brianna Rodriguez made the First Team after averaging 9.8 points, 2.8 steals and 3.3 assists per game. Thompson called her “the best defender we have ever had in our program.”

Maddi Valentine was another senior guard named to the First Team for Dexter. She averaged 9.6 points along with 4.2 rebounds and 1.8 assists per game this past season. “She was our hustle player of the year with the most rebounds, deflections, loose-ball recoveries to turnover ratio on the team,” Thompson said of the three-year starter on varsity.

Pioneer guard Lauren DeWolf was named First Team ALL-SEC Red after a strong senior season. Skyline junior guard Ava Perry was named First Team for the Eagles.

Dexter junior Chloe Perry (8.3 points, 2.2 assists per game) and freshman Alena Blumberg (8.3 points, 1.7 steals) were named to Honorable Mention.

Also making Honorable Mention were senior forward Elena Leucht and freshman forward Cora Williams from Huron; senior forward Ava Victory from Skyline; and senior guard Savannah Brewer from Pioneer.

Sportsmanship Award winners were Dexter senior Maggie Lewis, Pioneer sophomore Yeina Han, Skyline senior Mya Wooley and Huron freshman Saige Edmondson.