MAC Partners with ESPN Events for Four Bowl Games Annually Beginning in 2020

CLEVELAND, Ohio – The Mid-American Conference will participate in four ESPN Events bowl games during the next cycle from 2020-25.  The MAC will anchor two bowl games with the Makers Wanted Bahamas Bowl in Nassau, Bahamas and the Famous Idaho Potato Bowl in Boise, Idaho for each of the next six seasons (2020-25).

“The Mid-American Conference is proud to continue its partnership with ESPN Events and participate in four of its bowl games annually,” said MAC Commissioner Dr. Jon A. Steinbrecher.  “The mix of games provides the opportunity to visit an array of great bowl sites and play against an assortment of other conferences.  Attractive destinations and compelling match-ups make this partnership valuable to our membership and should provide Mid-American Conference teams and fans with great bowl experiences.”

During the next bowl cycle, the MAC will also participate in a minimum of two (2) additional bowl games annually among the following games: Cheribundi Boca Raton Bowl (Boca Raton, Fla.), Camellia Bowl (Montgomery, Ala.), Cure Bowl (Orlando, Fla.), Frisco Bowl (Frisco, Texas), Myrtle Beach Bowl (Myrtle Beach, S.C.) and the New Mexico Bowl (Albuquerque, N.M.). 

All the bowl games will be televised nationally on ESPN networks and will feature opponents from the American Athletic Conference, Mountain West Conference, Conference USA and the Sun Belt Conference.

MAC Primary Bowl Partners for 2020-25 cycle:
Two (2) games annually with ESPN Events:
• Makers Wanted Bahamas Bowl (Nassau, Bahamas)
• Famous Idaho Potato Bowl (Boise, Ida.)

The MAC will also appear in two (2) games annually among the following bowls:
• Cheribundi Boca Raton Bowl (Boca Raton, Fla.)
• Camellia Bowl (Montgomery, Ala.)
• Cure Bowl (Orlando, Fla.)
• Frisco Bowl (Frisco, Texas)
• Mobile Alabama Bowl (not an ESPN Events owned game)
• Myrtle Beach Bowl (Myrtle Beach, S.C.)
• New Mexico Bowl (Albuquerque, N.M.)

Additional MAC primary bowl partnerships:
• Nova Home Loans Arizona Bowl (Tucson, Ariz.)
• Quick Lane Bowl (Detroit, Mich.)

Founded in 1946, the Mid-American Conference is an NCAA Division I, 12-member conference that sponsors 23 championships and is one of 10 members of the Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS). With total enrollment of nearly 300,000 students, the league represents institutions of higher learning in five states – Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, New York and Ohio.

Current MAC schools and the year they joined are – East Division:  University of Akron (1992), Bowling Green State University (1952), University at Buffalo (1998), Kent State University (1951), Miami University (1947), Ohio University (1946).  West Division:  Ball State University (1973), Central Michigan University (1971), Eastern Michigan University (1971), Northern Illinois University (1975-86, rejoined in 1997), University of Toledo (1950), Western Michigan University (1947).  The conference office is based in Cleveland, Ohio.  For more information on the Mid-American Conference visit