Swimming: Huron dunks Lincoln, Adrian in SEC tri-meet

The Huron River Rats welcomed two other teams to town last Thursday and splashed off with two wins. The River Rats defeated Lincoln 122-58 and beat Adrian 136-34. Lincoln defeated Adrian 119-60.

It was a dominating evening for Huron. The River Rats opened with a win in the medley relay as the team of Eli Atkinson, Kevin Zhou, AJ Stewart and Noah Flott won in 1:42.83. Huron also took third with the team of Drew Lindstrom, Ben Hires, Tyler Gibbs and Dylan Schmitzerle.

Huron went one-two in the 200 free with Brian Moskus taking first in 1:57.85 and Peter Fazekas touching second in 1:59.35. Alex Moskus was fourth in 2:07.28.

The River Rats took the top three spots in the IM with Flott (2:10.86, MISCA cut time), Gibbs (2:18.85) and Sean Underwood (2:26.36).

They went top four in the 50 free. Schmitzerle was first (23.86) followed by Zhou (24.25), Ian Powell (25.10) and Jaden Martin (25.83).

Stewart won the butterfly in 54.04 and Schmitzerle was second in 58.53. Both MSCA cut times.

Atkinson swam a D-1 state cut time of 49.19 to win the 100 free for the River Rats. Bryce Yung was fourth (57.18), Joe O’Neal fifth (57.85) and Kenneth Jiang sixth (57.96).

Huron again went top four in the 500 free. Lindstrom swam a MSCA cut time of 4:55.15 to take first. Flott picked up his second MISCA time with a second-place touch in 5:11.83. Underwood was third (5:35.97) and Gibbs fourth (5:53.74).

The River Rats went one-two in the 200 free relay. The team of Stewart, Brian Moskus, Flott and Atkinson took first in 1:32.81 (MCSA). The foursome of Alex Moskus, Schmitzerle, Lindstrom and Hires took second in 1:37.01.

In the backstroke, Zhou took first with a MSCA cut time of 59.29. Fazekas was third (1:07.60), Powell fourth (1:08.71) and Matthew Ye fifth (1:14.06).

Jiang was second in the breaststroke in 1:08.46. Martin was fifth in 1:18.57 with O’Neal sixth (1:19.44) and Elijah Peters seventh (1:27.96).

The River Rats closed the meet with a one-two touch in the 400 free relay. The team of Stewart, Hires, Lindstrom and Atkinson took first with a MSCA time of 3:30.10. The team of Brian Moskus, Underwood, Fazekas and Zhou took second in 3:38.40.