Swimming: Pioneers remain on course with easy wins over Dexter, Jackson

The Pioneer boys’ swimming and diving team hosted a tri-meet on Thursday evening that included defending Division 2 champion Dexter. The Pioneers are just at a different level than most teams in the state and defeated the Dreadnaughts 147-36 and topped Jackson 150-33. Dexter defeated Jackson 111-69.

Pioneer won the opening medley relay. The team of Teodor Jaworski, Vaughn Hajra, Gabriel Labadie and Alex Farmer touched first in 1:42.20. Pioneer also took second as the team of Koa Williams, Sung-Jae Lee, Luke Packard and Tristan Serr finished in 1:45.74. The Dexter team of Tanner Sharp, Paul Schaefer, Luke Sayler and Leo Varitek finished in 1:45.81.

Pioneer junior Matthew Segal took first in the 200 freestyle with a time of 1:43.02. Teammates Ryan Hume was second (1:45.85), Cameron Williston third (1:46.28) and Caleb Rice fourth (1:49.09). Dexter’s Zach Norris was fifth (1:51.98) and Sharp sixth (1:53.90).

Pioneer’s Robert Yang won the 200 IM in 2:01.79. Hajra was second (2:01.92) and Samuel Fonte third (2:03.51) for Pioneer. Schaefer was fourth (2:09.22) for the Dreadnaughts.

The Pioneers grabbed the first four spots in the 50 free with Farmer (22.76), Williams (23.16), Labadie (23.36) and Jaworski (23.49). Varitek was fifth for Dexter in 23.99.

Pioneer’s Cole Tremewan won diving with 275.30 points. Dexter’s Cole Warren was second (251.95) followed by Pioneer’s Max Rolla-Mullis (184).

Segal returned to the winner’s circle with a win in the butterfly (53.68). Hume was second (55.08), Williams third (55.50) and Jaworski fourth (56.04) for the Pioneers. Dexter’s Sayler was fifth in 58.23 and Varitek sixth in 58.59.

The Pioneers took the first three spots in the 100 free with Rice first (49.37), Farmer second (49.50) and Hajra third (49.69). Norris took fourth (50.94) for Dexter.

The Pioneers took the first six spots in the 500 free led by Alex Lipham (4:56.76), Yang (5:09.37), Labadie (5:10.55), Matthew DeBona (5:15.10), Jack Wilkening (5:15.47) and Justin Su (5:22.09). Stuart Bovich was ninth for Dexter in 5:41.42.

The team of Williams, Jaworski, Yang and Segal won the 200 free for Pioneer in 1:30.81. Pioneer’s team of Rice, Hume, Fonte and Hajra took second in 1:31.65. Dexter’s team of Adam Hauser, Schaefer, Varitek and Norris took third in 1:35.08.

In the backstroke, Williston finished first in 55.14. Dexter’s Sharp was second in 57.92 and Pioneer’s Gabriel Sanchez-Burks was third in 1:01.41.

Pioneer went one-two-three in the breaststroke with Lee (1:02.99), Fonte (1:03.62) and Gabriel Almeida (1:04.58). Schaefer was fourth (1:04.93) for the Dreadnaughts.

The Pioneer team of Farmer, Rice, Sanchez-Burks and Segal won the 400 free relay in 3:18.19. Pioneer (Williston, Labadie, Lipham and Hume) took second in 3:19.80. Dexter’s team of Bovich, Norris, Sharp and Sayler took third in 3:29.52.