Swimming: River Rats cruise past Ypsilanti in season-opener SEC meet

The Huron boys’ swimming and diving team jumped into the water on Thursday to open the 2021 season and left Ypsilanti in its wake with a convincing 140-23 victory in an SEC dual-meet at Huron.

The River Rats won all three relays, including the opening medley relay. The team of AJ Stewart, Peter Fazekas, Drew Lindstrom and Alex Moskus went 1 minute, 45.44 seconds to take first. Huron’s team of John Gao, Kenneth Jiang, Victor Foss and Bryce Yung took second in 1:51.41.

Huron’s Tyler Gibbs went 2:05.12 to lead a sweep in the 200 freestyle. Ian Powell was second (2:08.55) and Jaden Martin third (2:14.34).

Fazekas took first in the 200 IM with a time of 2:15.81. Gao was second (2:17.40), Joe O’Neal was third (2:31.71) and Yung was fourth (2:37.39).

Lindstrom sprinted to first in the 50 free with a time of 23.83 seconds. Right behind him were teammates Jiang (second, 26.19) and Daniel Huang (third, 26.32).

Lindstrom jumped right back into the water and won the butterfly in 56.11. Foss was second (1:03.09), Gao third (1:04.00) and O’Neal fourth (1:11.72).

Stewart went 51.70 to take first place in the 100 free for the River Rats. Fazekas was second (56.15), Omar Abdulhak third (1:06.36) and Dean Molnar III fourth (1:12.59).

Huron dominated the 500 free with Moskus first (5:42.60), Jiang second (5:44.41), Gibbs third (6:11.63) and Harry Youngman fourth (6:14.42).

The foursome of Gao, Fazekas, Lindstrom and Foss took first place in the 200 free relay with a time of 1:38.93. The team of Wang, Kyle Smith, Kal Bunnell and Abdulhak took second in 1:50.04. And for good measure, the foursome of Michael Shahine, Samiran Muli, Molnar III and Aidan Gadepalli took third in 2:14.84.

Stewart was back in the winner’s circle after touching first in the backstroke with a time of 1:02.62. Andrew Ma was second (1:10.50), Huang was third (1:10.94) and Matthew Dowling fourth (1:12.37).
In the breaststroke, Wang took first with a time of 1:18.20. Smith was second (1:18.63), Bunnell third (1:19.12) and Michael fourth (1:25.00).

In the 400 free relay, the team of Powell, Foss, Martin and Jiang touched first in 3:55.23. The foursome of Dowling, Ma, Youngman and Huang took second in 4:16.39.