Swimming: Segal breaks school record in Pioneer’s win over Huron (see TWO photo galleries)

The Pioneer boys’ swimming and diving team scored a victory over a city rival, racked up a pool full of state-cut times and broke a school record. So, yeah, Thursday was a pretty good day for the Pioneers who knocked off visiting Huron 149-34 in an SEC dual-meet.

First, the school record.

Senior Matthew Segal went 45.15 seconds in the 100 free to break the Pioneer varsity record shared by a couple school legends. Andrew Heise (2015) and Adam Orringer-Hau (2018) had the school record time of 45.43 before Thursday. Orringer-Hau was Segal’s captain during his freshman year.

The list of Pioneer swimmers to record state-cut times were 200 Free: Alec Lipham (this is his first one this year); 200 IM: Caleb Rice and Jack Wilkening; 100 Fly: Robert Yang; 100 Free: Segal; and 100 Back: Wilkening.

See PIONEER swimming and diving photo gallery

Wilkening also had a state-cut time in the 50 free and Yang had one in the 100 free as members of the Pioneer relay teams.

Speaking of relays, Pioneer’s A and B medley relay teams raced to state-cut times. Pioneer’s 200 free relay and 400 free relay also earned state-cut times.

Like they did in their last meet against Monroe, Pioneer won every event against the River Rats.

The Pioneer team of Ryan Hume, Segal, Yang and Rice won the medley relay in 1:35.54. The team of Cameron Williston, Anthony Gibbons, Justin Su and Gabriel Burks touched second in 1:41.57. The Huron team of Eli Atkinson, Peter Fazekas, AJ Stewart and Alex Moskus took third in 1:43.23.

Alec Lipham won the 200 free in 1:45.60 with Williston second (1:47.73), Harrison Sanders third (1:48.09) and Jensen Wood fourth (1:53.45) for Pioneer. Huron’s Victor Foss was fifth (2:03.56).

See HURON swimming and diving photo gallery

Rice won the 200 IM in 2:00.67 with Wilkening second (2:01.16), Samuel Fonte third (2:05.07) and Gibbons fourth (2:06.14). Huron’s John Gao was fifth in 2:15.32.

The Pioneers took the top four spots in the 50 free with Burks first (22.62), Teodor Jaworski second (23.09), Jack Shemke third (23.14) and Justin Su fourth (23.56).

Cole Tremewan won the diving with 274.95 points followed by teammates Gabriel Mercier (207.60) and Max Rolla-Mullis (194.85).

Yang continued his big day with a first-place finish in the 100 butterfly with a time of 52.30. Huron’s Stewart was second in 53.81. Su was third (54.37) and Almeida fourth (55.81) for the Pioneers. Huron’s Atkinson was fifth in 58.05.

After Segal broke the school record in the 100 free, Labadie touched second (49.41), Burks took third (49.66) and Shemke was fourth (50.45) for the Pioneers. Huron’s Fazekas was fifth in 51.88.

Williston went the distance to win the 500 free with a time of 4:49.58. Huron’s Drew Lindstrom was second (4:52.78). Rice touched third (4:57.74), Lipham was fourth (4:57.94) and Jensen Wood was fifth (4:58.53). Huron’s Gao took sixth in 5:44.00 followed by teammates Victor Foss (5:44.67) and Daniel Huang (5:52.17).

The Pioneer team of Wilkening, Yang, Hume and Segal won the 200 free relay in 1:27.55. The team of Harrison Sanders, Shemke, Porter Malcom and Williston took second in 1:34.68.

Wilkening continued to shine with his performance in the backstroke. The senior took first place with a time of 54.33 followed by teammates Jaworski (57.31), Matthew DeBona (59.60) and Isaac Almeida (1:00.30). Powell was fifth for Huron in 1:11.45.

Sung-Jae Lee took first place in the breaststroke with a time of 1:01.57. Hume was second (1:01.81), Fonte took third (1:02.02) and Almeida was fourth (1:02.20) for the Pioneers. Huron’s Kenneth Jiang was fifth in 1:08.70.

The Pioneer foursome of Yang, Segal, Wilkening and Hume won the 400 free relay in 3:13.55. The Pioneer team of Labadie, Lipham, DeBona and Jaworski was second in 3:24.40.