Swimming: Skyline splashes past city rival Huron in SEC dual-meet

The Skyline Eagles continue to swim along in the right direction and against some pretty good competition. After knocking off previously undefeated Dexter on Saturday, Skyline dunked a strong Huron team 131-49 in an SEC Red Division dual-meet on Tuesday at Huron.

Let’s get right to it …

The Skyline foursome of Ben Deininger, Daniel Osterholzer, Ben Kurniawan and Matthew Lee won the opening medley relay in 1 minute, 40.68 seconds. The Huron team of Eli Atkinson, Peter Fazekas, AJ Stewart and Alex Moskus were a very close second in 1:41.56.

The Eagles took the top three spots in the 200 free with Evan McKelvey first (1:50.02), Daniel Koselka second (1:50.78) and Ben Edlund third (2:02.26). Huron’s Kenneth Jiang was fourth (2:02.94).

The Eagles went one-two in the 200 IM with Ben Kurniawan first (D-1 state cut time of 2:00.65) and Lucas Caswell second (2:05.01). Huron’s Drew Lindstrom was third (2:08.74) and Fazekas fourth (2:08.82).

Atkinson sprinted to a first-place finish in the 50 free with a time of 23.45 seconds. Skyline’s Deininger was second (23.58) followed by teammates John Evangelista third (24.55), Owen Schadler fourth (25.00) and Osterholzer fifth (25.13).

Skyline’s Charlie Andrew-Vaughan won the diving with 153.83 points with teammate Soren Nielsen second with 132.30 points.

It was a family affair in the 100 butterfly for the Eagles. Skyline’s Ben Kurniawan won the race with a D-1 state cut time of 53.65, just beating out his brother, Chris, who took second in 58.47. Skyline’s John Evangelista was third (1:00.95) and Huron’s John Gao was fourth (1:02.21).

The Eagles went one-two in the 100 free with McKelvey first in 49.77 and Koselka second in 50.01. Stewart was third (51.52) for Huron and Staunton was fourth (51.77) for the Eagles.
In the 500 freestyle, Atkinson touched first for the River Rats with a time of 5:09.60. Skyline’s Andrew Xi was second (5:20.08) and Edlund third (5:39.89). Huron’s Kal Bunnell was fourth (6:08.26) and teammate Elijah Peters was fifth (6:19.01).

The Skyline foursome of McKelvey, Caswell, Ben Kurniawan and Lee won the 200 freestyle in a D-1 state cut time of 1:31.13. The Huron team of Stewart, Bryce Yung, Moskus and Lindstrom swam second in 1:36.09.

Deininger continued his impressive day with a victory in the 100 backstroke with a time of 57.92. Caswell was second (58.00), Chris Kurniawan was third (58.86) and Owen Schadler fourth (1:02.38) for Skyline. Huron’s Fazekas was fifth (1:05.48).

In the breaststroke, Osterholzer led a dominating showing for the Eagles with a winning time of 1:04.30. Conor Pyle was second (1:04.74), Staunton third (1:05.49) and Lewis McCammon fourth (1:07.70) for Skyline.

In the 400 free relay, the Skyline team of McKelvey, Lee, Deininger and Caswell touched first in 3:26.45. The Huron team of Atkinson, Lindstrom, Fazekas and Victor Foss were second in 3:33.26.

Swimming: Pioneer celebrates Senior Night – meet these amazing young men