Swimming: Skyline swims past a strong Dexter team in SEC Red matchup

The Skyline boys’ swimming and diving team headed to Wylie Pool in Dexter on Wednesday night – not a venue opposing teams find a lot of success. Dexter wins state titles in swimming as often as the Buffalo Bills lose heartbreakers (yes, the writer is a Bills fan).

But the Eagles appear to have one of those special teams this year and scored an impressive 131-52 over a solid Dexter team. Both teams had outstanding performances as the strong competition resulted in excellent swims all night long.
The meet opened with a thriller – but between two Skyline teams.

The Skyline team of Chris Kurniawan, Daniel Osterholzer, Ben Kurniawan and Ben Edlund won the opening medley relay in 1 minute, 43.38 seconds. Skyline’s other team of Ben Deininger, Lewis McCammon, Evan McKelvey and Ian Root touched a very close second in 1:43.73.

Skyline went one-two in the 200 free with Lucas Caswell first (1:51.55) and Owen Torres second (1:56.74). Dexter’s Otto Krueger was third in 2:04.11 and teammate Jack Potsos was fourth in 2:06.39. Dexter’s Adam Bergen was fifth (2:07.35).

Skyline’s Andy Xi won the 200 IM in 2:10.15. Dexter’s Matthew Resende was second in 2:10.59 in another close sprint to the wall. Skyline’s Connor Zillich was third (2:18.33).

Skyline took the top three spots in the 50 free with McKelvey first (22.06), Ben Kurniawan second (22.56) and Edlund third (24.40). Dexter’s Grady Wheeler was fourth (24.46).

Cole Warren dominated the diving with a winning score of 297.35 points. Skyline’s Stuart Knight was second (205.15) and Soren Nielsen third (131.75).

Skyline’s Matthew Lee won the butterfly with a time of 53.26. Dexter’s Adam Hauser was second (58.85) and Skyline’s Luke Jordan touched third (1:00.05).

Ben Kurniawan won the 100 free for the Eagles with a time of 48.78. Skyline teammates Caswell was second (50.69) and Deininger third (51.68).

Skyline went one-two in the 500 free with McKelvey first (5:07.47) and Torres second (5:15.13). Potsos was third (5:34.34) for Dexter and Root fourth (5:35.83) for the Eagles.

Skyline’s team of Caswell, Lee, Root and Deininger won the 200 free relay in 1:33.30.

McKelvey won the backstroke in 59.01. Dexter’s Hauser was second (59.46) and Skyline’s Chris Kurniawan was third (1:01.39).

In the breaststroke, Skyline went one-two with McCammon first (1:05.18) and Nielsen second (1:09.88). Resende was third (1:12.33) for Dexter.

Skyline’s 400 free relay team of Xi, Edlund, Sawyer Thompson and Lee touched first in 3:29.74. Dexter’s team of Lucas Greatorex, Eric Smaby, Hauser and Resende took second in 3:37.65.