Tennis: Local players honored with All-State selections

The Michigan High School Tennis Coaches Association recently held its Fall Board of Directors Meeting at Haslett High School. The 30 coaches present selected a number of honors and awards including All-State teams and Regional coaches of the year.

All three Ann Arbor public schools had strong seasons in 2020. Both Pioneer and Huron qualified for the 16-team Division 1 State Finals in Novi. The Pioneers defeated the River Rats in a semifinal match. Pioneer lost in the finals to Okemos.

Skyline head coach Eric Sturgis was named a Regional Coach of the year.

Skyline sophomore Anthon Van Oyen; Huron senior Angie Zhou; and Pioneer senior Stanley Rhodes and junior Issac Herrenkohl were named to the Division 1 All-State team for singles. Huron sophomore Andy Andea was Honorable Mention.

Each of the three local teams placed a doubles team on the All-State team. Huron seniors Nick Grosh and TJ Bai; Pioneer seniors Sam Berkooz and Jack Archibald; and Skyline senior Nikhil Gunaratnam and junior Alex Veryidan were All-State in doubles.

It was a clean sweep in the classroom for Ann Arbor. Pioneer, Huron and Skyline all earned All-Academic honors. They were among the 17 of 68 D-1 teams to have an average GPA of 3.25 or greater.

In Division 3, Greenhills sophomores Chakor Rajendra and Rishi Verma and junior Mert Oral were named All-State in singles. Greenhills seniors Joey Formicola and Thomas Zeng made All-State in doubles. Greenhills junior Yaseen Metwally and sophomore Mustafa Zirapury were Honorable Mention.

Greenhills also earned All-Academic honors in D-3.